Online French Language School providing French classes, courses and lessons with a private native French tutor since 2005
Accelerated Learning method to help you learn French fast, 3 times FASTER !! 

French Faster

Learn French Online: from 12 euros/hour


The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment, abbreviated as CEFR, is a guideline used to describe achievements of learners of foreign languages across Europe and, increasingly, in other countries. It was put together by the Council of Europe. 

The main aim of the CEFR is to provide a method of learning, teaching and assessing which applies to all languages in Europe. Its six reference levels are becoming widely accepted as the European standard for grading an individual's language proficiency.

The Common European Framework divides learners into three broad divisions which can be further divided into six levels:

A. Basic Speaker 

  • A1   Breakthrough or Beginner
  • A2   Waystage or Elementary

B. Independent Speaker 

  • B1   Threshold or Intermediate
  • B2   Vantage or Upper Intermediate

C. Proficient Speaker 

  • C1   Effective Operational Proficiency or Advanced
  • C2   Mastery or Proficiency 

CEFR Levels

The CEFR describes what a learner is supposed to be able to do in reading, listening, speaking and writing at each level. Click below for a description for each CEFR Level:  

Download Common European Framework of Reference

CEFR Levels

Common European Framework